Genesis launch new film festival, streaming classic gigs online every weekend - EpicNews

Genesis have turn out to be the newest band to launch a new dwell stream sequence on YouTube.

Every Saturday from tonight (April 18), the band will stream a previous dwell gig in full, starting with their Three Sides Live film from 1981.

“Introducing the Genesis Film Festival, a celebration of live footage for you to enjoy at home during lockdown,” the band introduced on Instagram.

Advertisement

“Over the approaching 5 weeks, every Saturday from 12pm PST / 3pm EDT / 8pm BST a new Genesis live performance film might be made obtainable to observe on the band’s official YouTube channel for 7 days. See the total checklist of deliberate gigs to be broadcast beneath.

Saturday, April 18th – Three Sides Live (1981)
Saturday, April 25th – The Mama Tour (1984)
Saturday, May 2nd – Live At Wembley Stadium (1987)
Saturday, May ninth – The Way We Walk (1992)
Saturday, May 16th – When In Rome (2007)

The band join the likes of Pink Floyd in launching a new live stream series, with the prog legends additionally set to publish unseen, uncommon and archival footage every forthcoming week.

Last week, Radiohead additionally introduced that they would be releasing shows to YouTube on a weekly basis “until either the restrictions resulting from [the] current situation are eased, or we run out of shows”.

Advertisement

Earlier this 12 months, Genesis announced that they were reuniting for ‘The Last Domino?’, a 2020 UK and Ireland tour.

The prog pop legends, with core members Phil Collins, Mike Rutherford and Tony Banks, will play their first dwell exhibits collectively in 13 years later this 12 months. It’s not clear but whether or not any of the gigs might be affected by the continued coronavirus disaster.

Advertisement